Skip to main content

Hey all. Stupid newbie question here. So here is the scoop. I have been using compuware for about 6 months, and it has been perfect for my show. I use the easy show timeline, and have all the lighting sinked perfectly to the music.
So, just for fun, I bought a elation operator pro, just to play with, etc. But I am getting frustated. How the heck do you get it time accurate? do you have to sit there with a calculator, and add up all the hold and fade times, or what? Maybe I am missing the point.

Second question. Live music. Thus far, all the shows I have worked with have been to pre recorded music, and thus I have been able to have complete control of the timing. Now I have to do some work with a band, and I am starting to freak. How do you do it? Do I just program a lot of scenes and flip through them when I feel like it? Or do I do my best with the chase timing? I know there is probably not a "standard way" to do it, but what do the rest of you do when it comes to lighting a concert?

Thanks so much.

Drew

P.S. I am going off to school the end of april, and I will have a ton of light gear to sell, and I would be thrilled to give you all a sweet deal, caus this forum has been such a big help to me.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

drew, are you talking about timing the DMX operator pro shows?
If so, yes, you have to time it all with calculators and a bit of calculus!

Regading live shows, you basically have to have a live operator.
That's the way its done in the real world.
You have all your cues (scenes) all stacked up nicely in a show (cycle) in the order your going to play them.
Then for timing you set them to "GO".
"GO" allows the scene to cue up till you hit "GO" again then it take you the the next scene in the show.
so you basically have an operator hitting the "GO" button to a preprogrammed show.

Best regards,