Skip to main content

Hello. I'm new to all this DMX programming so please have patience. I've read every piece if online data available on the subject, and called Elation/American DJ several times, but can't find a solution.

I've programmed fixtures plus various chase and light scenes into the Oprator Pro, and according to everything, should be able to trigger these in Cubase by simply programming in appropriate midi notes on a midi track....however...i just can't get them to communicate. Cubase is definitely sending midi notes because my keyboard plays them, but DMX controller doesn't recognize them.

Can anybody tell me what i'm doing wrong?
1. Does the operator pro require more than just the midi notes... like CC's or note on/off commands?
2. Do the midi notes have to be a certain length or velocity?
3. According to Operator Pro manual, i simply have to count up the piano scale to find the corresponding note number to trigger with midi. Is this correct???

PLEASE HELP!!!
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I don't have the DMX Op Pro, but I have the DMX Operator and they have many similarities.

Starting at MIDI NOTE 0 is Bank 1, Scene 1

Map out your scenes/banks to regular note numbers and you're good.

So, Bank 1 has 8 scenes, right? That's scenes 1-8.
Bank 2 also has 8 scenes, but that's 9-16
So on and so forth. You can only address the first 128 scenes due to restrictions in MIDI addressing.

You can move notes in Cubase. That's what I'd do.
Hi Chris. Thank you for your help. Still a little confused. This chart is what i have to apparently go by to program the midi.

http://www.elationlighting.com...dmx-operator-pro.pdf

1. When you say Bank 1 does that mean Fixture Page 1 in the midi trigger chart?
2. there is no mention of midi notes 0-22 and 89-127 in this chart so i assume they have no meaning with this unit??
3. Would you have to use any CC's or anything other than simply placing an appropriate midi note onto a midi track in Cubase?