Skip to main content

In This forum you can discuss tips, tricks, and troubleshooting for Elation's Next Generation Compu Live software, "Compu Show".

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Wow, and I thought I was taking a big step up going from MyDMX to Compu Show.

I upgraded to MyDMX from a DMX Operator.

Let me give you some warnings about Compu Show:

The MyDMX is a great starter product, and for me it required very little learning curve, and I'm not a lighting guy, I'm an audio professional. But, it helped for when I jumped into Compu Show.

Even so, jumping into Compu Show,it's tough. VERY tough. It's very complex, but once you understand it, it becomes easier and easier. I started using it in January, and right now I'm progamming for a big show. I'm recreating a show I did using MyDMX for use with Compu Show. I'm effectively starting from zilch again.

So, here's what I'm going to say: It's going to be a pain in the butt at first, and maybe for a bit. BUT, if you don't give up, it's gonna reward you, so it's worth the effort.
It will go a long way for you sound guys to study lighting design a little more before you try to get out there and run a show.

Lighting is not complicated, it is just drastically different from audio.

Forget everything you know about Channels and what they do, then start from scratch by learning how DMX works.

You need to understand the we are taking a protocol designed to run intensity on single fixtures and applying that to fixtures that have a variety of features with varying properties.

I can program GrandMA, Hog, Avolites, LightJockey, and a list of lesser programs and, for a beginner, CompuLive is the best solution for learning intelligent lighting.

The only hard part is realizing that lighting is a completely different world from any other system.
Why forget anything?

As a sound guy, I come from a data communications and IT background.