Skip to main content

I am brand new to the entire "lighting world".

I was looking into purchasing some lights for my church's youth group. They are having a youth rally there, and unfortunately the rallies that have proceeded me have been sub par. This time I want to up the anty and make it special for these kids. The church is smaller, but I want the best possible.

I was looking into buying a pair of 250 power spots, as well as some smaller wash lights. what do you think? Is this a good idea, or do I have the wrong things in mind?

Is the setup for the power spot/wash hard? do you use computer programs, or can you do a simple manual setup?

Like I said I'm new, and have no idea what I am getting in to. Would this equipment be to advanced for a newbie like me, or is it ok to start working with. I want something that looks professional, but I can learn in a week and set up simply.

Thanks for an help!
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Intelligent lighting isn't something most people can jump right into. If you have a week, and I mean truly a week, to play around and try things however, you should be fine. It won't be easy however. I also don't know your background. Generally math based people find programming easier, especially computer programmers. I would look into Elation's CompuLive software for control with movers. It is very straight forward and user friendly for people new to the lighting world.

Now with just simple conventional lights or even some LEDs added in can be very effective and very entertaining without movement. I would recommend this route for beginners, and as you learn more and get more comfortable, move up to bigger things like movers. You can also use a less complicated controller for things like conventional and LED lights as oppose to movers.
Thanks for the advice!