Skip to main content

I'm a newbie so here goes. I have 3 octopod 80 sets. What is the profile for these on the Magic 260? there is an"Alkalite 6channel"profile, is this it? Daisy chain three pixel drive units via dmx to the controller, set up pixel drives to control all lights for one set and I can't get channel 2 Red, 3 Green, 4 Blue to manually mix. I get seemingly random colors Channel 1 set to zero and 6 set to zero. Help...
Manual for the octopods are no help and magic doesn't address this or the octopod 80s at all.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

hello lemon! welcome to the forums. i think the problem your running into is the magic 260 controls only 16 channels per fixture. so if u want to run all the octopods as individuals you would have to buy more pixel drives in order to achieve this. because to control one set of octopods individually u would need a console that allows up to 48 DMX channels per fixture. u see the pixel drive and all 8 pods are considered (as far as your controller is concerned) as 1 fixture in the DMX line. understand? so i recommend going for the DMX mode 4. the 12 channel operation cause that is all your controller will be able to handle per set of octopods. i hope this helps you out. if not let me know! peace! sincerely. jingles. p.s. welcome.
thanks for your reply, so far I can control all 8 pods on one "fixture" second group on 2nd "fixture". is there any way to assign one pod to one fixture? the magic has 24 fixture buttons so theoretically could it be programmed channel 1-6 as fixture 1; 7-12 as fixture 2, etc? it seems pretty logical. According to dmx language or does the pixel drive override this? in 48 channel mode it allows for this, 6 ch per pod.

Anyone else with experience or info?
Hi Lemon,
Yes.. right now, you can control each pod individually.
if you use the 48 ch. mode.
So each pod will be 6 channels each.
So pack 1 will start at 001
pack 2 will start at 049
pack 3 will start at 097

Ch 1 is rainbow