Skip to main content

Hi Elation Masters,

I bought the Elation COMPU LIVE 1024EC a couple of days ago. Thanks again for the requested .ssl file to get my Dynasty Scans running!

Now (as an absolute lighting/DMX novice/idiot) can someone lay out the steps to achieve the following:

I’m a working drummer and wish to trigger scenes from my midi Drum Octopad (while playing).

- I want drum pad 1 to be a midi trigger to move forward to the next scene in a Cycle. i.e. keep hitting the same pad (pad 1) to move forward through scene list in that cycle. (Kinda like [pgDn] within a cycle)

- I want drum pad 2 to be a midi trigger to move backward to the prior scene. i.e. keep hitting the same pad (pad 2) to move backward through scene list. (Kinda like [pgUp] within a cycle)

- I want pad 3 to be a black out midi trigger. AND, when I hit it, the next time I hit drum pad 1 or 2 it should continue where I left off (scene/switch-wise with the cycle).

Can someone outline the steps to get there?

I’ll keep studying the manual in parallel. Hopefully this isn't super hard. Smiler

Thanks!

Los
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Hey los! your gonna have to leanr which midi notes are coming out of ur pads that way u can assign them to i think maybe the go buttons on the cycle page. i will tel you now MIDI is NOT my world man. DMX is. lol i really am not sure hot to set up midi to trigger scenes. if i find a way i will let you know. peace! jingles. keep reding that manual. lol
Hi Folks,

Making progress on this.

- Got my scenes created and put them in a cycle.
- Set my scenes to "Go" within the cycle
- Right Mouse clicked on Master, then clicked on Settings
- Selected "Trigger" from Extern Action and trigger box
- Up came a table with tiggerable events.
Did the following:
X 3. Go to next scene (PGDN)
Midi Channel X ALL
Midi Note X 3
*Also did the same with 4. (PGUP, Note 4),
5. (PAUSE, Note 5),
& 6. (PLAY, Note 6).

- Then hooked my Roland PAD (Octopad II)