Skip to main content

Hello there, Manford here, new to the forum and new to the Operator 192. Great product, I owned a Chauvet 55 for several weeks and returned it for the Elation 192. I know they are basically the same unit, but the MIDI note functionality of the Elation unit swayed me over in a heartbeat. I play bass in a band and run the lights with a FCB1010 foot controller, and having the ability to control the audio tap feature via MIDI was the MAJOR selling point. In fact, I couldn't live without it! We are syncing the drummers kick drum with the audio chase, for simplicity.

Anyhow, long story short... I'm new to intelligent fixtures, and have 4 Intimidators that I want to program chases for. Looking for an overall FAQ or primer on how and where to get started. Anything like that exist out here on the web? I've looked around for at least a couple of weeks and haven't found a good place to start. Any help would be appreciated.

Also, one specific question. Is it possible with the 192 to save a FADE time with a chase step? For example.. scene 1 of a chase stays on for 1 second, then scene 2 fades in using 4 seconds, then back to 1 second for the fade on scene 3, and so on. So, quick scan, slow scan, quick scan, slow scan, etc. Thanks in advance for the help.

Manford
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Thanks for the welcome James. The answer I found was actually from a post of yours from the other forum, so I appreciate it!

Our music alternates between full tilt country (if there is such a thing) to moderately slow ballad type songs. I think what I may try is have the fast chases activate with the audio from the kick drum, and let the slow songs chase to the time set on the fader. More on this as I get further into it.

Again, thanks!
Manford

p.s. I've found a few simple videos out on youtube, but so far nothing past what is already explained in the manuals. I feel like trial and error might be the best path here.
Alright, the verdict is in.