Skip to main content

Hi, thanks in advance to all who read this post and take the time to help!

I'm new to dmx lighting....I recently bought a package with a stage setter 8, 2 dp 415 dimmer packs, 8 cans, and a truss. I used this for 2 shows for my band with just the built in chases, and it worked fine. For our last show, I added another dp 415 dimmer pack for channels 9 - 12 with a laser, tri gem led, 2 colorstrips connected together (not dmx'ed to controller, just each other and plugged into dimmer pack), and an aggressor. I created 8 user programs in 1x16 mode mixing it all up, and it seemed to work great.

At first everything worked great live, but then several times the board completely shut off for a second, and turned back on in blackout mode leaving the stage dark. I thought at first the power supply was loose, so i taped it into the power strip.....but that wasn't it. It seemed that every time it happened the colorstrips were on, but I don't think they are the culprit..(though I could be wrong) Could the problem be the new dimmer pack? I bought it as a refurb off ebay.

Thaks again for any help you can offer!! -brian
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Hi Brian and welcome to the forums.

If you replaced the power supply, sounds like a bad solder joint and/or loose connection in the console somewhere. I don't know how much you know about electronics, so don't know if you can fix the problem yourself. Disclaimer: I am by no means telling you to crack open the console and go digging around in there. You can damage the console more and/or severely hurt yourself. Don't do this unless you are qualified.

I would give service a call and maybe they can help you. Sorry I can't be of more help.
Thanks for the response, guys....