Skip to main content

So I am completely new to dynamic lighting. I am considering buying an Elation Cyber Pak to control stage lights for my band. We want to sync the lights to our drummer's click track using MIDI.

How do you control the Cyber Pak with midi. it has 4 channels, but receives MIDI notes 001-128. What does each note do? Is there a program I should be using?

--Kevin
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

It is really irritating that the burden of scanning the MIDI chart is on the consumer here, and that customer service does not even seem to have access to the manual. Does anyone who works at elation even understand what this thing does?
On top of this, mine already has a fried circuit (or something, def not blown fuse) after a couple weeks of use, so the 2nd channel is totally non-functional... really wanted to love this thing, but it's off to a rocky start
The Elation Data Specification Sheet for the Cyber Pak [ http://www.elationlighting.com...s/cyberpack-data.pdf ] says "This pack allows you to convert from a dimmer to a relay pack through the midi menu."

This suggests that it will do more than just respond to simple note-on/note-off messages. To reconcile this with what the tech told James I would guess that the light intensity is controlled by the note velocity messages that is along with the note on message. [It sure would be nice if Elation's manuals would spell some of this out, or at least provied a midi map that would give one at least a hint.]